When using custom ticket fields, there are different actions available. Each of these actions affect tickets and the API differently.
This support tip will discuss the results of performing the following actions:
- Deactivating custom ticket fields
- Deleting custom ticket fields
- Creating new custom ticket fields
- Alerting drop-down field options
Any data lost from the deactivated field can be recovered again by reactivating. After reactivating, the custom field will be available in the ticket view of the agent interface again.
If you delete a custom ticket field, you will not be able to recreate or recover the field or its data. If you would like to preserve the field data, it is recommended to deactivate the field instead.
For information on creating new custom fields see, Adding custom ticket fields to your tickets.
Drop-down fields display the same behavior as other custom ticket fields in tickets, Insights, and the API. However, drop-down field options can be changed and edited.
It is important to note drop-down field options are directly connected to their assigned tag. For example in the image below, the option 'red' is connected to the tag 'color_red'.
Head to the forums for this tip in greater detail
Keep the knowledge flowing! For more tips like this, check out Zendesk's Tip of the Week collection.